"This is an Archived Ergoweb Forum page -- Submissions are no longer possible"

Home Forums General Ergonomics Topics Change the world around the body, or change the body around the world?

This topic contains 11 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by  Ergohead 11 years, 5 months ago.

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author

Technesoma
    Participant

I’m new to researching ergonomics standards, practices and these forums.  I am a Myofascial Therapist and Structural Integrator, and would like to get a sense of the ergonomic community’s feelings about interventions that alter posture and anatomical function as a way of increasing comfort and efficiency when interfacing with systems, and do these somatic interventions get weighted equally with interventions that alter the system being interfaced with?  

Any information resources you can point me to?  Any thoughts?

Thanks & I appreciate your time,

JMH26
    Participant

I am in favor of your approach to treating people.  If the workr has an existing claim (worker comp or Disability)  then this therapy is well recived.  If you are trying to use this an approach as prevention in the workplace I believe you’ll have trouble.  This approach is considered a skilled intervention/treatment and most likely would be identified as a trigger for OSHA reportability.

As far as being considered in design, I have not seen any articles about it.

Jim Herzog

Occupational Therapist

[email protected]
    Participant

Aaron,