"This is an Archived Ergoweb Forum page -- Submissions are no longer possible"

Home Forums Medical Management Do I need a Dr.s referral for ergo consult for a Ca. Work Comp Emp on Temp Disability?

This topic contains 5 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  tonbra32 7 years, 6 months ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

WFOTR
    Participant

I have a referral for an employee at a private company in California.  The employee has had temporary disability and the employer is asking for a workstation evaluation and modification as needed.  My question is, do I need the employee’s doctor to provide a referral.  If so, do I, as a  provider of that service ( I am an Occupational Therapist with my own consulting service), need to have some type of authorization from the company’s Work Comp provider to then provide the service.  Does my business need a Workers Comp provider number?  Any info would be helpful…Thanks..Jim.

[private user]
    Participant

My understanding (and previous experience as an independent consultant here in CA) is that the answer is dependent on who will be paying the bill.  If you want to bill the WC carrier, then you’ll need their authorization and you’ll bill through the WC/medical system, and payment will come from the WC carrier.  If the referral is directly from the employer, and the employer is willing to pay you directly, you will not need any sort of authorization from the WC carrier because you’ll be working outside the WC system and payment will come from the employer.

Joanette Lima, PT, CPE

Ergonomist, Disneyland Resort

Anaheim, CA

WFOTR
    Participant

Thanks Joanette, most helpful!

aprw287
    Participant