"This is an Archived Ergoweb Forum page -- Submissions are no longer possible"

Home Forums General Ergonomics Topics Ergonomic curriculum for elementary education

This topic contains 11 replies, has 9 voices, and was last updated by  ErgoMaine 11 years, 11 months ago.

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author

amk320
    Participant

Hi, I am a pediatric physical therapist in MA and a dpt student. I work in a school district that is invested in health promotion. We would like to add some body mechanics and ergonomic education for elementary age students to the current curriculum. I would appreciate any information regarding existing curriculums. We have a unit on back pack safety but have not yet added any other formal training. The teachers are highly motivated when there is a simple unit for education and suggested grade level activities to reinforce the information provided. These activities are enthusiasticly received when they address other curriculum needs such as mathematics. It makes sense to provide knowledge and develop healthy habits early but I would like to make sure that there is evidence to back up any training we provide. I am just beginning to research this topic and learning how to use the ergoweb forum. If I have missed a previous discussion please advise. Thank you for your assistance. Anne

[private user]
    Participant

Just a reminder that our software program Stretch Break for Kids is available for free for any school (K-12) child and to any K-12 school. It can be downloaded at:

http://www.paratec.com/sbform/kidsform.htm