"This is an Archived Ergoweb Forum page -- Submissions are no longer possible"

Home Forums General Ergonomics Topics Ergonomic Issues in Steel manufacturing industry

This topic contains 4 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  bluecraig004 13 years ago.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

bluecraig004
    Participant

Is there anyone who has an expertise on ergonomic issues and concerns specifically in a steel manufacturing industry? I am affiliated in a steel manufacturing industry. As I am still new with ergonomics, it is quite a hard task to identify ergonomic risk…I am assigned in the Production Dept- Cut and Bend Section. Workers are operating the Shearline and Bender machines in cutting and bending rebars. There are also overhead cranes being used in transporting bundles of bars from one section to another. Hope someone can give me some list of ergonomic issues related to my area of concern. Thanks

fgrose
    Participant

Try a search here, http://www.lni.wa.gov/Safety/Topics/ReduceHazards/ErgoBank/search.asp.

Frederick Grose, MPH, CIH

[email protected]
    Participant

Ergoweb has significant experience in the steel manufacturing industry. We’re familiar in general with the operations you mention, but I’m sure there are unique equipment, processes, policies and procedures for your company, so it’s probably best that we communicate privately to discuss specifics, then share generally applicable information in this forum.

I’ll send you a message using the Private Message feature in this forum (click on your highlighted screen name, then click on the Send Private Message link) and we can discuss offline for now.

Best regards,
    Peter Budnick, PhD, CPE
    Ergoweb Inc.

[private user]
    Participant