"This is an Archived Ergoweb Forum page -- Submissions are no longer possible"

Home Forums General Ergonomics Topics Ergonomics of pushing hospital beds on carpet vs smooth flooring

This topic contains 16 replies, has 13 voices, and was last updated by  pjacobs 10 years, 6 months ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 17 total)
  • Author

FLOBRN
    Participant

Greetings

My first visit and posting to all, I hope someone can point me in the correct direction.

I am a Labor and Delivery nurse in Florida. My "mission’ is to get the carpeting out of our perinatal unit. The labor and post partum beds are heavy. The average patient is now 250 lbs and up – HEAVY. We have to push these patients in the beds from the labor room to the OR. Then from the recovery room to their rooms on Mother Baby. Even with 2 people to push the bed and the IV pole it is difficult. Our backs hurt. Administration needs to be convinced to get the carpet out. We have not been able to accomplish this via the sanitation route but I think the ergonomics route may have a chance.

Do any of you have resources I can use to show them how much more force carpet vs tile uses. Resources showing the incidence of back injury would be wonderful. My dream is a project titled "Improving Ergonomics in a Perinatal Setting". Leaning over Moms helping with breastfeeding is a whole other issue and is in fact, the reason I gave up that particular job.

Hoping to hear from some of you.

FLOBRN

[email protected] 

[private user]
    Participant

Cheryl,