"This is an Archived Ergoweb Forum page -- Submissions are no longer possible"

Home Forums General Ergonomics Topics Innovative solutions to replace the use of Keyboard Trays

This topic contains 4 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  [private user] 8 years, 7 months ago.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

[private user]
    Participant

I am fairly new to ergonomics, and from what I understand keyboard trays have their time and place, but it seems that the majority of reports, discussions, and forum threads I have read advise against the use of keyboard trays as a "band-aid" solution.  So here is my problem-

I am coming into an organization where ergonomics assessments were previously contracted out.  Upon reading the ergonomics assessment reports I noticed that the equipment recommendations were

a) all the same – they recommended the EXACT same equipment for each employee regardelss of anthropometrics.

b) Equipment suggestions were often very costly, and recommended to be purchased from a certain distributor.

with that being said – I have a situation where a specific keyboard tray was suggested to ALL employees. One of the employees is very tall, and use of the key board tray would inhibit leg clearance, and move her so far away from her desk due to clearance issues that she would no longer be within her immediate workspace. I would like to get away from the use of keyboard trays, and was wondering if anyone has any innovative ideas for an alternate solution?

Any suggestions would be much appreciated.

lettsolutions
    Participant

I am not a fan especially of the straight pull-out keyboard trays. If your taller person is experiencing poor leg clearance, the tray is most likely too low for her to use anyway.

I also do not use keyboard trays much because they push the person further away from the desk work. Especially problematic if they need to write things down while doing computer work.